No use crying over cut grass

(Background ***I work in a very small law office, the only support staff is me and the office manager)

I come into work today with the phone immediately ringing.  I answer, it’s OfficeManager:

MIP: “Good morning ‘TheHellHole’ can I help you?”

OM:  “Hey, it’s me.  I’m running late and feeling sick to my stomach.”

MIP:  “I’m here so no hurry.  What happened?”

OM:  “Our mower blew up.”

MIP:  “okay, is everyone okay?”

OM:  “yes, but now we’re going to have to spend thousands of dollars to get a new one.”

MIP:  “I’m sorry that happened.”

OM:  “I’ll be there shortly”
end of conversation.  So once she’s gotten here she goes into this story about the motor blowing up and that now they’re going to have to spend $6 to $8 K on a new one.  That followed by crying. 

WTF???  Okay I understand not wanting to pay that much for another lawn mower and not wanting to have to make payments on it but WTF???  Crying?   Okay maybe I’m a cold hart-less bitch but what the hell. 

Okay I guess I’m being this way because of several reasons.

  1. They make way more money than TheGrump and I do
  2. I know for a fact they could just pay for the damn thing out of savings and have tons left in savings
  3. Do you really need a lawn mower that costs that much, I mean damn we bought one from Lowes for $1,300

I guess never having expensive stuff like that doesn’t make me want to cry hearing about your sob story.  Sometimes I wonder how I’m going to pay my electric bill, guess that’s not as important as a FREAKING LAWN MOWER………………….

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave
    Jul 14, 2006 @ 16:45:09

    Here from Michele’s this evening. I agree with you, if you can’t afford it, save for it. People seem to think that they need things when in reality they just ‘would like’ them.

    Reply

  2. Chrissie
    Jul 14, 2006 @ 17:17:22

    WTF is right! I totally agree with you. It’s sickening to me. I almost feel like I would have had to say something to her about how I felt…. did you?

    Here from Michele’s
    Don’t worry, wouldn’t let you get skipped!

    chrissie

    Reply

  3. Mother-of-C
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 05:31:30

    What the hell ? I’m buying a new flash one next Friday. For $550.00.
    Does her mower come with a hot lawnmowing guy to operate it ?

    ( Michele sent me 😉

    Reply

  4. "Pixie"
    Jul 19, 2006 @ 18:08:58

    Geez… for 6-8 grand I could buy myself a WORKING car. A nice one at that, instead of the piece of junk I’m driving around. Or I could shave off years on my mortgage. But buy a new lawnmower with that kind of cash?? HA. HA. hahaha. I just spent $100 on a cheap ass pushmower this spring for my yard. Like I’d ever shell out that much for a mower.

    Some people have too much damn money on their hands.

    Reply

  5. MorahMommy
    Jul 21, 2006 @ 17:35:17

    What are they cutting that they need an $8000 lawnmower…are they doing the entire neighbourhood?

    Geez I worry about spending $120 on a pair of shoes when I can buy a similar pair for $39.99!

    Michele sent me…but I will be back 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

