Randomness of the week

Oh my where to start.  Well I took my second week of vacation this week to try and get some stuff done around the house and do some things with the kids.  Well it started off good was getting the house clean and planning some trips to the lake with the kids.  I got a call first thing Monday from my office manager (which normally isn’t unusual because they always call me while I’m on vacation.)  But this time was different.  She was freaking out because evidently one of the places I interviewed at was calling to check my references.  Which I thought was odd because I was suppose to have a second interview with them and they never called me back to do it.  So anyway, she was wanting to know if she needed to put an ad in the paper hiring new help.  I said no but that yes I had applied because I was looking to make more money.  She gave me that I ought to feel lucky for what I make now…………………..anyway  I wonder what she really said to them because I have heard nothing back from them at all.  Not even a rejection letter or a followup interview.  So who knows.  Now things will probably be even more uncomfortable at work now because they really had no clue I was looking for something else. 

So anyway got some stuff cleaned this week and we went to the lake a few times.  The kids were hoping to go again today but I had to come into work today (go figure) because the office manager wanted to leave early because her sister in law is having a baby shower today at 6 p.m.  Why she needed to leave at 1 p.m. who knows?  but that’s the norm around here.  If that were me I’d get the big “why must you leave so early” speech.  Which I could understand if she were giving the baby shower but she’s not.  I am the peon here and defiantly get treated like it.  I hate that everything is one sided and that people constantly leave early and got to do this and got to do that, but when it comes to something like kids doctor appointments and such I have to work around what they think I should do.  Hello if my kid is sick (which luckily rarely happens where I take off work) then I need to take them to a doctor.  I don’t know I guess a lot has built up and gotten on my nerves these last 4 years.  I really want to feel like my job makes a difference in the world and I only feel like it destroys more than it helps.  I guess that’s what I get working for a divorce attorney. 

Anyway I’m here at work and my kids are patiently waiting on me to get off so we can cook out tonight when I get home. 

tootles,

MIP

Leave a Reply

