Blended like a margarita

sometimes I feel Like I need one…………

Just kidding.  So as you know we have a blended family and since that’s all I’ve ever known I just assume that non-blended families (if there are any left in the world) have similar trials and tribulations like we do.  Don’t get me wrong my family is wonderful, it’s the TheEx that usually causes my life to be stressed.  Which I never had before because TheTomboy’s dad and I get along quite well.  I even get along with his wife.  So until I got married I never really had that much drama.  And now we try to avoid the drama TheEx would have it no other way. 

Anyway my kids are adjusted as well as they can, being from a blended family.  Although Queenie is having some issues of her own now, being the only child that doesn’t go away to another parent’s house.  Now every-time one of the older children leave she cried “don’t go, don’t go”.  Everyday that they are not there she’ll ask “where’s bubby, where’s sissy, where’s sissy?”  and I have to explain the best that you can to a two year old where each of them are.  It’s sad to hear her cry after them, but we manage. 

Anyone else from a blended or normal family that has drama? I’m sure you’re out there 🙂

MIP

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kristyk
    Jul 25, 2006 @ 21:59:39

    Dealing with my husband’s ex is ALWAYS drama, drama, drama. I started off ten years ago thinking that it would get better. She would get over it. She would grow up, but no. It is always bad and the kids are the ones that suffer.

    It sucks.

    Reply

  2. Kimber
    Jul 26, 2006 @ 15:16:31

    I grew up in a blended family… My best advice is respect the other parent and get along (like adults should of course!) and don’t be threatened. My mom and step dad were both so hyper sensitive about the other parents that we kids felt guilty about loving the bio parents…

    My husband has 3 boys from previous marriage (can you say FREAK!), but of course I didn’t learn above lesson early! If I had it to do over… I was a bad stepmommy… but they still love me, i think.

    As far as margaritas go… I love mine on the rocks with extra ice!! LOL

    You were the comment above me on wifely steps… and michelle suggested I visit you! Nice to meet ya!

    Reply

  3. wordnerd
    Jul 26, 2006 @ 15:28:20

    I’m kinda boring, but my sister’s ex takes the cake and has provided more drama than we ever thought possible. My sister’s phone calls usually begin with: “You are NOT going to believe this, but…”

    Visiting from Michele’s this morning!

    Reply

  4. Carrie
    Jul 27, 2006 @ 21:19:56

    *Perk* That’s what my eyes did at the mention of a margarita! lol

    I’m not part of a blended family, but I hear the frustrations with them on a regular basis.

    I know that I went through the questions from Diva when CJ went to school (why does HE get to go and I HAVE to stay home?) every day! So I’m sure it’s just a jealousy that her older brother and sisters get to go do something without her.

    Reply

  5. Carmi
    Jul 28, 2006 @ 17:20:29

    I lead a boring life – married to my college sweetheart; not a whole lot of drama in our house. Though our youngest – he’s 5 – misses his older sister – she’s 8 – terribly when she has a sleepover.

    That’s what I love about life: everyone’s is different, and we all learn so much through the experiences of others. Thanks for sharing yours here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

