Rainbows, moodswings and maxi pads

I’m not ready, I’m not ready………

TheTomboy is 9.  And being only 9 I thought she would be just like her mother and be a late bloomer.  I thought I wouldn’t have to worry about any of this puberty stuff for at least another year or two.  Over the last 3 to 4 weeks I have noticed a change in her.  Her moodswings have increased greatly.  She went from being happy and care free one moment to down in the dumps the next.  That’s when I started to think it was coming.  That’s when I realized that my little girl is growing up.  

She has begun filling out some and we’ve looked into training bras for her.  Then yesterday she comes to me with this:

TB:  “mom, I felt like I was going to cry today.  All day today.  And ya know, it was for no reason.  No one did anything to me.  Nothing bad happened, but I still felt like I was going to cry”

She already knew that when she got old enough she would have a period but I didnt’ think she realized how hormonal she would be or how crazy her body would act.  So yesterday we sat down and had a talk about it and we put some maxi pads in her book bag “just in case” and now the countdown has begun. 

I wasn’t sure I was even ready to handle fourth grade this year, But I definately wasn’t ready for this.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sol
    Sep 06, 2006 @ 20:49:12

    That’s… just.. way too young. Of course I think 38 is too young too! You’ll get through this; both of you will. Good luck and Michele sent me.

    Reply

  2. Dianne
    Sep 07, 2006 @ 15:13:28

    Ahhh the bittersweet angst of growing up, I remember it well. Girls are starting their periods earlier and earlier these days it seems and it sure sounds like your TB won’t be waiting too long before the big day. Hope all goes well for her when it happens.

    Dianne x
    (via blog exp)

    Reply

  3. wordnerd
    Sep 07, 2006 @ 20:00:29

    Mine’s almost 12, and I’m still not ready for that! Hope yours waits a bit longer as well!

    Reply

  4. Brony
    Sep 09, 2006 @ 07:39:47

    The joys of motherhood. I’m sure you’ll get through it just fine.

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Sep 10, 2006 @ 17:43:58

    9?? Wow. I hear that’s getting more common though. I wonder why that is! I didn’t start until I was almost 12. I panicked!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

