Randomness

Okay so I complain all the time about my job yes.  And I do sorta like what I do.  But am the low man on the totem pole or “the girl who makes the coffee” and I just don’t want to be that.  And I didn’t spend 30k in school loans (so far) to be the girl who makes the coffee.  But some-days I am reminded of why I wanted to work in family law.  We have a client, a man who has custody of his kids (I know strange huh, not necessarily) His ex is crazy and he had been trying to get her to just give up her rights and let his wife adopt the kids because she is nuts and just doesn’t do right by the children.  Well after a year and a half of trying to get her to do so, she gave in.  Why you ask?  Because she didn’t want to pay child support and was so far behind that DCSE was going to put her in jail.  So she signed over her kids to him and his wife.  We just finished up the adoption and it was singed by the judge.  And to of seen the look on his face when he came in for a copy of the adoption order, it was the look of a man who’s troubles had been suddenly relieved.  He and his wife are some really super nice people and the mother was causing turmoil and trouble in these kids lives and he was so worried about them, but now his worries are lifted.  It just makes me glad I chose this profession, even if it is for a brief minute.

On other news soccer starts tomorrow and The Tomboy has her first game.  TheDiva’s mother signed her up with their local soccer team but there wasn’t enough interest so now she’s on the waiting list to participate in the county program which TheTomboy is in.  But now that schools in there’ll be non  stop running for activities of all sorts 🙂

TheEldest left his shoes at my MIL’s house the other day.  And reports from a classmate of his that knows our family said that he had been wearing flip flops all week to school.  Which my MIL and I both thought was odd because it has been cool and drizzly this week.  Plus if anything like TheTomboy’s school they are not allowed to wear flip flops because of gym class.  So anyway he is suppose to go to a dance and football game tonight and then I will pick him up after.  So I got his shoes from my MIL’s house and was going to take him his shoes.  I arrive at his mother’s house (aka Witch) and see vehicles but no one out side.  And since I can not go on her property (long story where she threatened me, while I was pregnant an then got papers served on me, over two years ago) I couldn’t go knock on the door to give them to him.  So I decided I go to his school and drop them off to him there, which is what I usually do.  So anyway I get there, tell them who I am and they call him up to pick up his shoes and some socks (because I figured he’d be wearing his flip flops again) and yep he was.  No only was he wearing flip flops but his hair also looked greasy and he looked like he had been up all night and very tired.  I told him I’d pick him up tonight and he went back to class.  Now this ticked me off because we’ve run into the “no shower or bath” issue before.  Over the summer they are with us a week and the Witch a week.  During his time with the Witch many times he didn’t take a bath or shower.  Sometimes being because his mother and step dad used up all the hot water and had to go so he didn’t get a shower.  But being at our house during that time we made sure he took a shower everyday.   But now school is back in and they only come 2 days a week and every other weekend, trying to resolve this problem is going to be impossible. 

Maybe I better explain to you about the Witch.  The Witch is the type of person who tries VERY hard to make everyone else see how great she is, great mom, great business woman, great wife…..etc…   But no matter how hard she tries her true self seems to come out and everyone sees how terrible she is.  The problem is that she think’s it everyone else who has the problem and not her.  Quite the contrary.  She had even been heard saying she didn’t want kids and that when her kids hugged her sometimes she coudn’t stand it.  Funny thing because she had 2 kids with TheGrump and has a new baby with the new husband.  The way she treats them is nuts.  She plays with their minds and emotions and it is taking a toll on them.  You can tell, Hell everyone who’s known them all their lives can tell.  And the courts just do no good because they see that “miss perfect mom” persona for the brief time she’s in court and make a decision based on that.  Which is why I hate my job most of the time..  The court just don’t have the time to see people for who they really are unless you are in court every other week and that my friend is expensive.

MIP

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rashbre
    Sep 15, 2006 @ 19:54:38

    Without the person at the bottom of the totem pole every one else would fall off, and it is imprtant that they remember that.

    And Hello, Michele sent me!

    Reply

  2. Grins
    Sep 15, 2006 @ 20:18:53

    Those are the kinds of moments that makes any job feel more rewarding. Helps to remember that when dealing with service people as well….it might seem unfulfilling but a smile of appreciation, anything nice at all can make someone feel that their job is pretty great. Michele says hi.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

